Kansas LLC Costs
A limited liability company, or LLC, is a business structure that provides business owners access to liability protection, unique tax breaks, state-specific business incentives, and a workable management structure. It is common for entrepreneurs and small business owners to believe that the LLC formation process in Kansas is too complicated and expensive. However, it is a straightforward process and worth the investment over time.
Recommended LLC Services
Costs to start an LLC in Kansas
LLC Articles of Organization ($160 online)
Kansas annual report fee ($50 online)
- Kansas requires you to file an annual report with the Secretary of State.
- You can file your annual report online using the Annual Report Online Filing system.
- Or, you can complete the Limited Liability Company or Series Limited Liability Company Annual Report form (Form LC 50) and submit it to the Kansas Secretary of State.
- The Kansas annual fee is $50 if you file online and $55 by mail.
- Failure to file your annual report fee may result in the dissolution of your Kansas LLC.
Kansas registered agent fee (varies between $50 to $300)
- You must appoint a registered agent in Kansas if you are forming an LLC in the state.
- When you appoint one, you are letting the Kansas Secretary of State know someone is available during business hours to accept paperwork, subpoenas, and tax notices.
- According to Kansas law, you can appoint anyone as a registered agent if they meet the state requirements, including yourself.
- The cost of a registered agent in Kansas depends on your chosen commercial service, your LLC’s needs, and state filing fees.
Fees to form a foreign LLC in Kansas ($165)
- If you have an existing LLC in another state and are looking to expand, you must register it as a foreign LLC.
- You can register your Kansas foreign LLC online using the Kansas Secretary website.
- Or, you can complete the Application for Registration of Foreign Covered Entity form (Form FA) and submit it to the Kansas Secretary of State.
- The filing fee to register a Kansas foreign LLC is $165.
LLC name reservation fee ($30 online)
- In Kansas, you do not have to reserve an LLC name prior to formation.
- When you reserve a company name in Kansas, you ensure no one else can register the same name before you form the LLC.
- An LLC name in Kansas must be unique and meet the state requirements.
- You can reserve an LLC name for up to 120 days before formation.
- You can reserve an LLC name using the Kansas Secretary of State’s website.
- Or, you can complete the Temporary Reservation of Business Entity Name form (Form NR 52-01).
- The cost to reserve an LLC name in Kansas is $10 if you file online or $35 by mail.
Cost of certified document copies ($15)
Certificate of Good Standing ($10 online)
- Banks will require you to present a Certificate of Good Standing to open a business bank account.
- You can order your Kansas Certificate of Good Standing online through the Business Entity Search Station.
- Or, you can follow the instructions and request your certificate by mail or phone.
- The filing cost for a Kansas Certificate of Good Standing is $10 if you file online or $15 by mail.
Steps to start an LLC in Kansas
Choose a business name
When choosing a company name in Kansas, you will want to consider a few things.
- Your LLC name must be unique and available for use in Kansas.
- The LLC name must meet all Kansas LLC naming requirements.
- You will want to check for web domain availability to keep the branding simple.
You will use the Business Entity Search Station (BESS) to conduct a name search.
LLC name reservation fee
You do not have to reserve an LLC name in Kansas before formation.
The cost to reserve a company name in Kansas is $30 online, and $35 by mail. An LLC name is good for up to 120 days. Kansas does not require you to reserve an LLC name.
Appoint a Kansas registered agent
In Kansas, you must appoint a registered agent when forming an LLC in the state.
The price for a Kansas registered agent or service varies between $50 and $100 a year. The cost depends on the state and your LLC needs.
A registered agent in Kansas is an individual or business entity that receives tax forms, legal documents, subpoenas, civil notices, service of process, and other official government correspondence on behalf of a sole proprietorship, corporation, or LLC.
The registered agent you choose must be a Kansas resident or a registered agent service authorized to conduct business in the state.
- Starter Plan – $39 a year plus State Fees
- Pro Plan – $149 a year plus State Fees
- Premium Plan – $249 a year plus State Fees
ZenBusiness has a stand-alone registered agent service for Kansas LLCs. The price is $99 per year.
- Total Out The Door Kansas LLC Formation Service Package – $42 a month and includes:
- Kansas State Fee
- Filing Service Fee
- Registered Agent
- Tax ID
- Annual Plan – $225 plus State Fees a year
- Economy – $79 plus $153 Kansas filing fees
- Standard – $329 plus $153 state filing fees
- Express Gold – $349 plus $255 state filing fees
File Kansas Articles of Organization
Kansas requires you to file Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State.
You can file your Articles of Organization using the KanAccess website.
Or, you can complete the Limited Liability Company Articles of Organization form (Form DL-09) and submit it by mail.
The cost to file Kansas Articles of Organization is $160 when filing online and $165 by mail.
Kansas does not offer any LLC expedited services.
Kansas Office of the Secretary of State
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612
Form DL-09 will ask for specific information about a Kansas LLC.
- LLC name
- Registered agent information
- Mailing address
- Tax closing month
The fee in Kansas for filing your LLC Articles of Organization is $160 online, or $165 by mail.
Get a Kansas LLC EIN
An Employer Identification Number, or EIN, can also be referred to as a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Federal Tax ID Number (FTIN).
The 9-digit EIN works as a Social Security Number for LLCs for income tax purposes. The Internal Revenue Service, or IRS, assigns EINs for no additional charge.
A sole proprietorship that converts to an LLC in Kansas must apply for an EIN.
Applying for an EIN is a simple process online through the IRS website.
Business banking for a Kansas LLC
You will need to open a business bank account that is separate from your personal one.
In Montona, you will present your Articles of Organization, an operating agreement, and EIN to do business banking.
Business banking accounts are generally free, and do not have additional charges or fees.
Business attorney fees in Kansas
By retaining a business attorney in Kansas, you are ensuring the LLC formation process remains simple. A lawyer will always help with any other future business-related issues.
In Kansas, most business attorneys do offer free consultations to first-time clients.
On average, a business lawyer in Kansas will cost $300 per hour.
LLC taxes in Kansas
- LLCs in Kansas are considered pass-through entities. It means you will finish your personal tax returns instead of the LLC’s tax returns.
- An LLC must register for a seller’s permit if you sell physical goods.
- The Kansas state tax rate is 6.50%, and a max local and county rate of 4.00%.
- Kansas has a franchise tax with a maximum of $20,000. The annual franchise tax is due by the 15th of the 4th month according to the tax year.
- In Kansas, you must register for Unemployment Insurance Tax through the Kansas Department of Labor.
- You must enroll in Employee Withholding Tax through the Kansas Department of Labor.
- Federal and state taxes can get complicated quickly. When you hire a tax expert, you are helping to ensure that you avoid penalties, late fees, and possible dissolution.
Business licenses and permits in Kansas
Permits and business license costs will vary in Kansas depending on where the LLC is located and the type of business.
You will use the Kansas Secretary of State’s website to search for the correct business license for your LLC.
A business licence in Kansas varies between $50 to $210. The total cost of permits and licences will depend on where your LLC is, and the type of LLC.
Kansas city and county government agencies will have different rules and processes. You will need to contact the local office for questions about the process, price, and office hours.
You may find that some LLC documents may require a notarization from a Kansas notary public.
If you are unable to locate one, most government offices have a notary public on staff.
Kansas does not cap what a notary can charge for notarial acts.
In Kansas, the average notorial act will cost $5 to 25 per act. However, Kansas does not have a max on what one can charge.
Employer obligations in Kansas
- When you hire employees in Kansas, you will have certain employee obligations.
- An employer must verify that employees are eligible to legally work in the United States using Form I-9 from the USCIS Website.
- An LLC is required to enroll in worker’s compensation insurance.
- You will report new hires to the Kansas Department of Labor.
- You can find a complete list of Kansas employer obligations using the KansasEmloyer website.
Benefits of a Kansas LLC
- Forming an LLC in Kansas will keep business banking easy in the state. Banks require you to open a business banking account separate from your personal one. It is to reduce your future liability.
- Corporations and LLCs have different compliance requirements. Incorporations have shareholders and board members to answer to when doing business.
- LLCs are pass-through entities in Kansas. LLC earnings are taxed through personal tax returns rather than the LLCs.
- You help to avoid being double-taxed when you form an LLC. C-corporations, for example, are typically double-taxed, while LLCs are not.
- Kansas has incentives that are available to LLCs. Economic Development Grants and State Small Business Credit Initiative are incentives available for an LLC in the state.
How long does it take to register an LLC in Kansas?
Kansas processes online LLC registration immediately. When you file by mail, it takes 3 to 5 business days.
Kansas does not offer any expedited LLC services.
How do I dissolve my Kansas LLC?
You will need to dissolve your LLC in Kansas to avoid ongoing costs and fees. You can file your Articles of Dissolution online or complete the form and submit it by mail.
The LLC filing fee for cancellation is $30 if you file online and $35 by mail.
Are there publishing requirements for Kansas LLCs?
Unlike Arizona and New York, Kansas has no additional publishing requirements for LLCs.
Do I need to register a DBA for my Kansas LLC?
The business term DBA means ‘doing business as.’ A DBA or an assumed name is any registered name that a person or business uses that is not the company’s legal name.
You are not required to register a DBA in Kansas. Unlike most states, Kansas does not have a system to register DBAs.
Do I need a business operating agreement for my LLC in Kansas?
You are not required to submit an operating agreement to the Kansas Secretary of State. But, an LLC benefits from having an operating agreement to avoid future conflict.
An operating agreement can be written or oral as long as it is in the company’s files.
Find out how much it costs to start an LLC in your state
Click below to get started.