New Hampshire LLC Costs
An LLC, or limited liability company, is a business stricture that gives business owners better liability protection, unique tax benefits, and an optimal management structure. Some business owners believe that LLC formation in New Hampshire is overly complicated and expensive. However, it is pretty affordable and worth the time and cost over time.
Recommended LLC Services
Costs to start an LLC in New Hampshire
LLC Certificate of Formation ($100)
- You must file your Certificate of Formation, or Articles of Organization, with the New Hampshire Department of State.
- The LLC cost to file a New Hampshire Certificate of Formation is $100.
- New Hampshire only offers expected services for faxed filings and walk-ins. You will need to contact the Department of State for questions.
New Hampshire annual report fee ($100)
- In New Hampshire, you must file an annual report.
- You will file your New Hampshire annual report online using the NH QuickStart website.
- Your New Hampshire LLC annual report must be submitted by April 1 every year.
- Failure to pay your annual fee on time will result in a $50 penalty, and you could face LLC dissolution.
New Hampshire registered agent fee (varies between $50 to $300)
- When forming an LLC in New Hampshire, you must appoint a registered agent.
- You are letting the New Hampshire Department of State know that someone is available during business hours to accept subpoenas, tax notices, and other correspondence.
- Your LLC cannot act as its own registered agent. However, you as an individual can.
- The cost for a registered agent for your LLC will vary depending on the service or individual to choose, your LLC needs, and the state filing fees.
Fees to form a foreign LLC in New Hampshire ($100)
- If you have an existing LLC in another state and want to expand, you will need to register your LLC as a New Hampshire Foreign LLC.
- You must file an Application for Foreign Limited Liability Company Registration (Form FLLC-1) through the New Hampshire QuickStart portal.
- The LLC filing fee to register a New Hampshire foreign LLC is $100.
LLC name reservation fee ($15)
- New Hampshire does not require you to reserve an LLC name as long as it is available when you start LLC formation.
- Reserving an LLC name ensures that another company does not obtain and use it.
- You can reserve a New Hampshire LLC name for up to 120 days.
- You must complete LLC Name Reservation (Form 1) online using the NH QuickStart website.
- The cost for reserving a New Hampshire LLC name is $15.
DBA filing fees in New Hampshire ($50)
- The business acronym DBA stands for ‘doing business as.’ A DBA, or an assumed name, is any registered name a company or individual uses to do business that is not its legal name.
- You must register a DBA name in New Hampshire if the business name is not the name of the LLC.
- You must complete the Application for Registration of Trade Name (Form TN-1) online using the NH QuickStart website.
- The cost for a New Hampshire DBA is $50.
Cost of certified document copies ($5)
- You will order New Hampshire certified copies of LLC documents through the NH QuickStart portal.
- A certified LLC document in New Hampshire costs $5 and $1 per page.
- New Hampshire does offer an expedited process for $30 plus $1 per page.
Certificate of Good Standing ($7 online)
- Banking institutions and lenders will require a New Hampshire Certificate of Good Standing before allowing you to open a business banking account in the state.
- You can order your Certificate of Good Standing online using the NH QuickStart website.
- Or, you can contact the New Hampshire Secretary of State Corporation Division for instructions on how to submit by mail or in person.
- The filing cost for a Certificate of Good Standing in New Hampshire is $7 online and $5 by mail or in person.
Steps to start an LLC in New Hampshire
Choose a business name
In New Hampshire, you will need to consider a few things when choosing an LLC name.
- Your New Hampshire LLC name must be unique and available for use.
- Your LLC name must meet New Hampshire guidelines and restrictions.
- You will want to check for web domain availability.
You will use the NH QuickStart website to conduct a name search for LLC name availability.
LLC name reservation fee
You do not have to reserve a New Hampshire LLC name before the formation process.
An LLC name reservation is good for up to 120 days in New Hampshire.
You must complete LLC Name Reservation (Form 1) online.
The cost for reserving a New Hampshire LLC name is $15.
The cost for reserving an New Hampshire LLC name is 15, and is good for up to 120 days. New Hampshire does not require you to reserve an LLC name.
Appoint a New Hampshire registered agent
In New Hampshire, you must appoint a registered agent to form an LLC in the state.
The price for a New Hampshire registered agent or service varies beetween $50 and $100 a year. The cost depends on the state and your LLC needs.
A registered agent in New Hampshire is an individual or business entity that receives tax forms, legal documents, subpoenas, civil notices, service of process, and other official government correspondence on behalf of a sole proprietorship, corporation, or LLC.
The registered agent you choose must be a New Hampshire resident or a registered agent service authorized to conduct business in the state.
- Starter Plan – $39 a year plus State Fees
- Pro Plan – $149 a year plus State Fees
- Premium Plan – $249 a year plus State Fees
ZenBusiness offers a stand-alone registered agent service. The price is $99 per year.
- Total Out The Door New Hampshire LLC Formation Service Package – $45 a month and includes:
- New Hampshire State Fee
- Filing Service Fee
- Registered Agent
- Tax ID
- Annual Plan – $225 plus State Fees a year
- Economy – $79 plus $153 New Hampshire filing fees
- Standard – $329 plus $153 state filing fees
- Express Gold – $349 plus $255 state filing fees
File New Hampshire Certificate of Formation
You must file your LLC Certificate of Formation with the New Hampshire Department of State.
You can submit your Certificate of Formation online using the NH QuickStart website.
Or, you can complete the Certificate of Formation New Hampshire Limited Liability form (Form LLC-1) form.
The cost to file your LLC Certificate of Formation is $100.
New Hampshire only offers expected services for faxed filings and walk-ins. You will need to contact the Department of State for questions regarding the price and process of expedited services.
Corporation Division, NH Dept. of State
107 N Main St, Rm 204
Concord, NH 03301
Form LLC-1 will ask you for specific information about the New Hampshire LLC.
- LLC name and address
- Nature of your LLC business
- Registered agent information
- The name of at least one LLC manager or member
The fee in New Hampshire for filing your LLC Certificate of Formation is $100.
Get a New Hampshire LLC EIN
An Employer Identification Number, or EIN, can also be referred to as a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Federal Tax ID Number (FTIN).
An EIN is a 9-digit number that acts like a social security number for companies for income tax purposes. The IRS, or Internal Revenue Service, issues EINs for free.
If converting a sole proprietorship to a New Hampshire LLC, you will need to apply for an EIN.
Applying for an EIN is a simple process online through the IRS website.
Business banking for a New Hampshire LLC
It is always recommended that you keep your personal banking account and business banking accounts separate. It protects your assets and credit scores.
In New Hampshire, a bank will require your Certificate of Formation, an operating agreement, and your federally assigned EIN.
Business banking accounts are generally free, and do not have additional charges or fees.
Business attorney fees in New Hampshire
Hiring a business attorney will help guide you through the LLC formation process. It makes it more manageable, and you have someone that can help handle future business-related issues.
A business attorney will likely offer you a free consultation if you are a first-time client.
Professional services such as LegalZoom and Rocket Lawyer offer LLC formation packages that include comprehensive legal services.
On average, a business lawyer in New Hampshire will cost $300 per hour.
LLC taxes in New Hampshire
- In New Hampshire, an LLC is a pass-through entity. It means the member will file their personal tax returns rather than the LLC’s state tax returns.
- New Hampshire is one of five states that do not have a state sales tax.
- LLCs with gross receipts of more than $500,00 will have a flat 8.2% tax. It is an annual tax due on the 15th day of the third month after the close of the tax year.
- New Hampshire has a Business Enterprise Tax. It usually requires an accountant to decipher the exact amount of tax. The New Hampshire Department of Revenue website has complete information about the business tax.
- You will incur a $50 penalty for Business Enterprise Tax late filings.
- You must register for Unemployment Insurance Tax with the New Hampshire Employment Security for LLCs with employees.
- New Hampshire state taxes are complicated, especially the Business Enterprise Tax. You will benefit from hiring a tax accountant to avoid fines and penalties.
Business licenses and permits in New Hampshire
The New Hampshire business licenses and permits you will need will depend on where your LLC is located and the type of business.
You will use the NH.gov Business website to search for the specific licensees and permit you to require.
A business license in New Hampshire is between $100 and $140 . The price for local permits and licenses will depend on where you are located and the type of business it is.
All New Hampshire counties and towns will have different rules and requirements for permits and licenses. You will want to contact the office beforehand to ask about the process, price, and business hours.
You may come across LLC documents in New Hampshire requiring a notary public.
Most government offices have a notary on staff if you cannot find one.
According to New Hampshire, a notary public can only charge a max of $10 per notorial act.
Employer obligations in New Hampshire
- In New Hampshire, you have certain employee obligations if you hire employees.
- In the United States, you must verify that all your employees are eligible to work in the US by using Form I-9 from the USCIS Website.
- You must enroll in worker’s compensation insurance in New Hampshire.
- You must report all new hires to the New Hampshire Employment Security.
- You can find a complete list of employer obligations in New Hampshire.
Benefits of a New Hampshire LLC
- You are simplifying business banking when you form an LLC in New Hampshire. Banks and lenders will require that you open a business bank account that is separate from the personal accounts. It offers you liability protection in the future.
- LLCs have different compliance requirements than other business structures. Incorporations answer to shareholders and stock owners when making business decisions, while LLCs do not.
- A New Hampshire LLC is a pass-through entity. Your LLC earnings are only taxed once through your personal tax returns.
- Forming an LLC in New Hampshire helps reduce your chance of double-taxation. C-corporations, for instance, are double taxed. LLCs are not.
- New Hampshire LLC formation fees are more affordable than in many states. It only costs $100 to file your Certificate of Formation.
How long does it take to register an LLC in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, it will take 3 to 7 business days to process an LLC online and up to 3 weeks if you file by mail.
There are expected services available if you file by fax or in person.
How do I dissolve my New Hampshire LLC?
You must dissolve your LLC to avoid ongoing costs. You will file your Articles of Dissolution with the NH Department of State. You can file online or complete the form and submit it by mail.
The filing fee for your LLC cancellation is $35.
Are there publication requirements for an LLC in New Hampshire?
Unlike Arizona, New Hampshire does not require any further publication requirements outside of your annual report.
However, you take advantage of advertisements when you publish your new LLC. It helps new companies, small businesses, and entrepreneurs introduce themselves to the public.
Does New Hampshire have an annual franchise tax?
New Hampshire does not have a franchise registration fee or an annual franchise tax.
Find out how much it costs to start an LLC in your state
Click below to get started.