Vermont LLC Costs
Limited liability companies, or LLCs, provide business owners liability protection, unique state-specific tax breaks, and a management structure that is flexible. Some business owners think that forming an LLC in Vermont is too complicated and costly to pursue. But, it is actually straightforward and is worth the investment in the long run.
Recommended LLC Services
Costs to start an LLC in Vermont
LLC Articles of Organization ($125)
- You must file your Articles of Organization, or Certificate of Formation, with the Vermont Secretary of State.
- The cost to file your Vermont Articles of Organization is $125.
- Vermont does not offer any expedited services for LLC formation.
Vermont annual report fee ($35)
- The Vermont Secretary of State requires you to file an annual report.
- You will file your LLC’s annual report online using the Vermont Secretary of State Corporations Division website.
- You must pay your annual/biennial $35 fee within 2 1/2 months of the end of your company’s fiscal year.
- When you fail to file your annual fee, there is a $25 penalty, and you may face possible Vermont LLC dissolution.
Vermont registered agent fee (varies between $50 to $300)
- You must appoint a Vermont registered agent when you form an LLC in the state.
- By obtaining a registered agent, you are alerting the Vermont Secretary of State that someone is available during business hours to accept subpoenas, tax documents, and other correspondence.
- Vermont allows you to act as your registered agent if you meet all state requirements.
- Your LLC cost for a registered agent will vary depending on the service you hire, your business needs, and the state filing fees.
Fees to form a foreign LLC in Vermont ($125)
- You must register an LLC as a foreign LLC if you have an existing one in another state and you are wishing to expand.
- You will use the Vermont SOS Corporations Divison website to register your foreign LLC.
- Your LLC filing fee to register a Vermont foreign LLC is $125.
LLC name reservation fee ($20)
- You do not have to reserve your Vermont LLC name before LLC formation as long as it’s available when you start the process.
- When you reserve a company name, you ensure that another business does not register it before you can start LLC formation in Vermont.
- You can reserve a Vermont LLC name for up to 120 days prior to LLC formation.
- You will reserve your LLC name using the Vermont SOS Corporations Division website.
- The filing fee for reserving a Vermont LLC name is $20.
DBA filing fees in Vermont ($50)
- DBA is a business acronym that stands for ‘doing business as.’ A DBA, or assumed name, is a registered name that a person or company uses to operate under that is not its legal name.
- LLCs in Vermont do not have to register a DBA name. However, when you file for a DBA, you are ensuring no one else can use the same business name.
- You will register your Vermont DBA online using the Vermont SOS Corporation Division website.
- The cost for a Vermont DBA is $50.
Cost of certified document copies ($25)
- You will order your Vermont LLC documents through the Vermont SOS Corporations Division website.
- The cost for a certified LLC document in Vermont is $25.
Certificate of Fact ($25)
- Banks and money lenders will ask for a Vermont Certificate of Fact before allowing you to do business banking in Vermont.
- You will order your Certificate of Fact through the Vermont SOS Business Services Division website.
- The filing cost for a Certificate of Fact in Vermont is $25.
Steps to start an LLC in Vermont
Choose a business name
You will want to consider a few things before choosing an LLC name in Vermont.
- The Vermont LLC name must be distinctive from any other registered company name in the state.
- Your LLC name must meet all Vermont LLC name guidelines and requirements.
- You will want to check for the availability of a web domain that goes with your LLC name.
You will use the Vermont SOS Corporations Division website to conduct a name search for LLC name availability.
LLC name reservation fee
You are not required to reserve a Vermont LLC name prior to formation.
You can reserve an LLC name for up to 120 days through the Vermont Secretary of State.
The cost for reserving an LLC name in Vermont is $20.
The cost to reserve an LLC name in Vermont is $20 and good for up to 120 days before LLC formation. Vermont does not require you to reserve a name.
Appoint a Vermont registered agent
In New Vermont, you must appoint a registered agent to form an LLC in the state.
The price for a Vermont registered agent or service varies beetween $50 and $100 a year. The cost depends on the state and your LLC needs.
A registered agent in Vermont is an individual or business entity that receives tax forms, legal documents, subpoenas, civil notices, service of process, and other official government correspondence on behalf of a sole proprietorship, corporation, or LLC.
The registered agent you choose must be a Vermont resident or a registered agent service authorized to conduct business in the state.
- Starter Plan – $39 a year plus State Fees
- Pro Plan – $149 a year plus State Fees
- Premium Plan – $249 a year plus State Fees
ZenBusiness offers a stand-alone registered agent service. The price is $99 per year.
- Total Out The Door Vermont LLC Formation Service Package – $47 a month and includes:
- Vermont State Fee
- Filing Service Fee
- Registered Agent
- Tax ID
- Annual Plan – $225 plus State Fees a year
- Economy – $79 plus $153 Vermont filing fees
- Standard – $329 plus $153 state filing fees
- Express Gold – $349 plus $255 state filing fees
File Vermont Articles of Organization
You will file your LLC Articles of Organization with the Vermont Secretary of State.
You can file online using the Vermont SOS Corporations Division website.
Or, you can request Form LLC-1(D) through the Secretary of State form request website.
The cost to file your LLC Articles of Organization in Vermont is $125.
Vermont does not offer any expected services for LLCs.
Vermont Secretary of State
128 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05633
Form LLC-1 (D) will ask you for specific information about your Vermont LLC.
- LLC name and address
- Registered agent information
The fee in Vermont for filing your LLC Articles of Organization is $125.
Get a Vermont LLC EIN
An Employer Identification Number, or EIN, can also be referred to as a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Federal Tax ID Number (FTIN).
The 9-digit EIN acts as a Social Security Number for businesses for income tax purposes. The Internal Revenue Service, or IRS, issues EINs for no cost.
In Vermont, if you convert a sole proprietorship to an LLC, you must apply for an EIN.
Applying for an EIN is a simple process online through the IRS website.
Business banking for a Vermont LLC
It is recommended that personal bank accounts and business bank accounts should always be separate from one another. It will protect the owner’s personal assets and credit scores.
Banks and financial institutions in Vermont will require a copy of your Articles of Organization, an operating agreement, and your LLC’s EIN.
Business banking accounts are generally free, and do not have additional charges or fees.
Business attorney fees in Vermont
A business attorney is always good to have around when forming an LLC. It ensures that the process remains manageable and that someone is there to handle any future business-related problems.
Business attornies typically offer free consultations for first-time clients.
Professional services such as LegalZoom and Rocket Lawyer offer LLC formation packages that include comprehensive legal services.
On average, a business lawyer in Vermont will cost $300 per hour.
LLC taxes in Vermont
- LLCs in Vermont are considered pass-through entities. It means you will file your personal tax return rather than your LLC’s state tax returns.
- If you sell physical products or services in Vermont, you must obtain a seller’s permit through the Vermont Department of Taxes.
- The Vermont state tax rate is 6.00%, and a max local and county rate of 1.00%
- Vermont has a business entity income tax and has a minimum of $250. You will want to follow the instructions on the Vermont Department of Taxes website instructions.
- You must register for Unemployment Insurance Tax with the Vermont Department of Labor.
- In Vermont, you are required to enroll for Employee Withholding Tax through the Department of Taxes.
- Vermont state taxes are complicated. LLCs benefit from hiring tax accountants to avoid late fines and fees.
Business licenses and permits in Vermont
Vermont business licenses and permits will depend on the location of your LLC and the type of business it is.
You will use the Vermont Secretary of State Business Services Division website to navigate which licenses and permits you need from the state.
A business licence in Vermont varies between $125 to $300. The total cost of permits and licences will depend on where your LLC is, and the type of business you own.
In Vermont, your local government offices will have different rules and requirements for permits and business licenses. You will want to contact the office for questions about the process, price, and office hours.
Some LLC documents in Vermont may require notarization by a notary public.
Most government offices have a notary in the office if you cannot locate one.
According to Vermont law, a notary public can only charge a max of $5 per notorial act.
Employer obligations in Vermont
- If you hire employees in Vermont, you have specific employee obligations.
- You must verify that all of your employees are eligible to work in the United States with the federal government using Form I-9 from the USCIS Website.
- Vermont requires that you enroll in worker’s compensation insurance.
- You must report all new hires to the State of Vermont Department of Labor.
- You can find a complete list of employer obligations in Vermont.
Benefits of a Vermont LLC
- When you form an LLC in Vermont, you make business banking easier. Banks and lenders will require you to open a business bank account that is separate from your personal one.
- LLCs and corporations have different compliance requirements. Incorporations have board members and shareholders to answer to when making crucial business decisions.
- In Vermont, an LLC is a pass-through entity. The earnings of your LLC are only taxed once through your personal tax returns.
- You avoid double-taxation when you form an LLC in Vermont. Some business structures, such as C-corporations, are double taxed while LLCs are not.
- Vermont has business incentives available to LLCs. Vermont Employment Growth Incentive (VEGI) and Vermont Opportunity Zone Program are both available for LLCs.
How long does it take to register an LLC in Vermont?
It takes Vermont 1 business day to process online LLC filings. It takes 7 to 10 days if you file by mail.
Vermont does not have any expedited LLC services.
How do I dissolve my Vermont LLC?
You will want to dissolve your LLC to avoid the ongoing cost. You will file your Articles of Termination with the Vermont SOS Corporations Division online or by completing and submitting the form by mail.
The filing fee for LLC cancellation is $20.
Are there publication requirements for an LLC in New Vermont?
Unlike Arizona, Vermont has no publication requirements other than your annual report fee.
But, by publishing your new LLC, you are alerting your future customers or clients that you have services they may want to explore. Forming an LLC helps new companies, small businesses, and entrepreneurs introduce themselves to the public.
Do I need a business operating agreement for my LLC in Vermont?
Vermont does not mandate that you create or submit an LLC operating agreement.
However, LLCs choose to have one on file. An operating agreement can be verbal or written, which helps minimize future misunderstandings within the LLC.
Does Vermont have an annual franchise tax?
New Hampshire does not have a franchise registration fee or an annual franchise tax.
Instead, Vermont has an annual/biennial business entity income tax with a minimum of $250.
Find out how much it costs to start an LLC in your state
Click below to get started.